- Ultimate Concealed Carry Experience
- CCA Defensive Pistol
- CCA Defensive Rifle
- Spy Escape and Evasion
- Victim-Proof Woman
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What concealed firearms permit will I be getting in your class?
A. After the 4-hour training you will qualify to apply for the Utah concealed firearms permit and the Virginia handgun permit. The Utah permit is highly sought after because you can obtain it no matter what state you live in. In other words, they issue it to non-residents. Also, there is no restriction on the type of firearm you can carry and there is no live-fire qualification. It’s easy to get, the permit is good for 5 years and there’s only a $15 renewal fee after the initial 5 years.Also, as mentioned earlier, you also qualify for the Virginia permit. Combined, both Utah and Virginia allow you to carry concealed in 34 states! Due to a new state law, Virginia residents must get their Virginia permit first, then apply for the Utah permit. Maryland and DC residents are allowed to go straight to the Utah permit. (Virginia residents, we show how to easily do this in class.)
Q. Do you take care of everything for my concealed firearms permit?
A. Yes. The Concealed Carry Academy is a “one stop shop.” At the class we’ll take care of your fingerprinting, take your passport photo, make a copy of your driver’s license, and help you fully assemble your Utah application packet - at no extra charge.
Q. What else is included in the class?
A. You get our free Top Secret Concealed Carry DVD, free concealed carry presentation CD, firearm and equipment consultation, free home defense report, and Jason will be an expert witness for free, should you ever become involved in a self-defense shooting. Also, you can take the class again for free as many times as you'd like, to improve your personal protection skills and knowledge.
Q. How long until I receive my permit?
A. It takes Utah approximately 60 days to process everything and mail it to you. It takes Virginia about 50 days.
Q. Can you tell me what states the Utah permit is valid in?
A. Since the list can change at any time, please check out the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification website.
Q. How much does the Utah permit cost?
A. The permit itself has a total fee of $65. This includes $35 for the Utah processing fee and $30 for the FBI to process your fingerprints. You can write a check to the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification or you can use a credit card on the application – which we provide for you and show you how to fill out. But please remember to either bring your checkbook or a credit card to class, as this fee goes directly to the state of Utah and is not included in the cost of the class. The fee for Virginia is $50.
Q. What are the requirements to get the Utah permit?
A. -You must be 21 years or older
Q. What do I need to bring to the Ultimate Concealed Carry Experience?
A. A valid driver’s license and either a check or credit card to pay the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification’s fee for issuing the permit. We provide everything else for you – the fingerprinting, passport photo, and application. (Also, when you sign up for the class we’ll send you an email to remind you what to bring.)
Q. Can I see a copy of the application?
A. Sure, just click on this link:
Q. What if I decide I’m not comfortable getting the permit and I change my mind?
A. On all of our training we offer a 100%, no questions asked, money back guarantee. If you don’t want the training, or don’t like it, we will give you your money back on the spot.
Q. What if I’m a total beginner?
A. No problem at all. It truly doesn’t matter if you’ve never touched a gun in your life. In our relaxed and comfortable setting we’ll teach you everything you need to know to comfortably handle a firearm. Most importantly, we’ll do it in a friendly, non-intimidating way. In fact, here's what one fellow said who'd never held a handgun in his life:
"Before I took a class at the Concealed Carry Academy, my experience with guns was limited. I knew only how to use the rifles and shotguns that belonged to my father, and had never even seen a handgun. But Jason Hanson taught the class in a way that was clear, yet went into every important detail, from legal issues, to posture and grip, to holsters, to even discussing technical aspects of handguns, in a way that is approachable to a first-timer. If you could only take one class, or have been hesitating to take the first step, the Concealed Carry Academy is the best place to go.”
Q. How do I sign up for classes?
A. Using the buttons on the left side of this website, choose the class you wish to attend. (The Ultimate Concealed Carry Experience, Basic Pistol, Personal Protection in the Home, or Private Training.) Look on the calendar at the bottom of each page and choose the date you wish to attend. Click on the course and you’ll be taken to the registration page. On the registration page, simply enter your information. If you have any problems or questions about registering for a class, please give us a call at 703-942-9292.
Q. When I go to sign up I only see the city and state of the class. How do I find out the exact location?
A. As soon as you register for the class you will receive an email with complete registration details, which includes the address of the class. The majority of classes are held in hotel conference rooms in Fairfax, Virginia.
A. Yes, you can also apply for the Virginia resident and non-resident permit. The permit is good for 5 years, and like Utah, does not require a live-fire qualification. The fee for the Virginia resident permit is $50.00 and $100 for non-residents. Applications and free notary service will be provided in class if you wish to get your Virginia permit.
Q. Can I bring my firearm to the Ultimate Concealed Carry Experience?
A. No. You cannot bring a gun or any ammunition to the class. Please leave all firearms and ammo at home. Utah does not require a live-fire qualification. Leaving your firearms at home is a requirement of the state of Utah and is for everyone’s safety.
Q. Which course is best for me?
A. Typically, most of the people we train start out with the Ultimate Concealed Carry Experience and then take either the Basic Pistol course or the Personal Protection in the Home course. Both of these include time at the shooting range and more in-depth coverage of defensive shooting techniques. Also, after the Ultimate Concealed Carry Experience we’ll be more than happy to talk with you and see what other courses fit you best.
Q. Can I get personal one-on-one instruction?
A. Yes. This training is fully customized and we cover whatever topics you wish. For more information on one-on-one training, click on the “Private Training” tab on the left. But please note, there is usually a waiting list of several weeks for one-on-one training.
Q. What do I need to bring if I am taking the Basic Pistol or Home Protection classes?
A. You should bring your own handgun if you own one. If not, you will be able to use one of ours. Bring 50 rounds of ammunition for the Basic Pistol course and 100 rounds of ammunition for the Personal Protection in the Home course. You can also buy ammunition at the range if you wish. For complete details of each class, click on the Basic Pistol or Personal Protection tabs on the left of this page.
Q. What if I’m looking for a type of training or service that’s not listed on your website?
A. Send us an email and let us know what you’re looking for. We do consulting and provide other various services. As long as what you’re asking for is legal, we’ll most likely be able to help you out.
Q. What if you haven’t answered one of my questions here?
A. Then give us a call at 703-942-9292. Or, click on the “Contact Us” tab on the left of the page to send us an email and we’ll get right back to you.